Fourth of July: George Eliot Says What I Would Like To Say Better

Standard

I’m going to begin by using an ending – the last sentence in Middlemarch by George Eliot:

“… for the growing good of the world is partly dependent on unhistoric acts; and that things are not so ill with you and me as they might have been, is half owing to the number who lived faithfully a hidden life, and rest in unvisited tombs.”

I think about this passage a lot. In fact, it is one of my favorite passages in one of my favorite books of all time, which is slightly ironic because I initially found the ending of the book to be infuriating when I read it in a Victorian Literature  course. I won’t go into English major mode now and dissect the text, but I will suggest that this passage honors the lives of those who are not mentioned in our history books and calls all of us to enhance our spheres of influence, regardless of whether or not our actions will be recorded or receive awards. In other words, all of us can use our creative abilities for good, and it is pretty awesome when we do.

To free thoughts and the ability to express them…

To being free to act in love and toward the betterment of all…

To the creative spirit everywhere.

Happy Fourth!

– Free Range Al

Leave a Reply

