Adding Color

Standard

Today, I decided to surround myself with color.

The past few days have contained special moments, but I was letting some rather dark concerns and thoughts into my mind. I think I needed to sort through them – I needed to honor the life of someone who brought me hope and laughter – but when I realized I was no longer honoring and was actually wallowing, I knew I needed to consciously find beauty and color.

I began working on a larger piece (I normally keep my work within the size of a greeting card or postcard) and am enjoying the practice of working on it for a bit, then returning to it after some time has passed. Usually, I try to finish something in one sitting. Here is a glimpse:

Behind the Scenes 082

 

 

I did start and finish a greeting card design tonight. The phrase came to me several weeks ago and I could not keep it in anymore! I’m letting the paint dry tonight before printing it on my cards.

Behind the Scenes 084

My earliest project was very bright:

Behind the Scenes 079I initially made these bracelets to sell at Saturday’s Market, but I might have to make some more because these are going to be hard to part with.

Behind the Scenes 078Today was my son’s first day of kindergarten. As I look through the pictures of him going to school, I can’t help but giggle at the obvious genetic disposition to choose the colorful over the subdued:

Walking to CarWishing you a colorful and lovely week!

– Free Range Al

About Alexis

I’m an artisan, momma of one, wife, yogi, and thinker currently living in Missouri, although I’ve also called Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, and Oregon home. Throughout these moves, I’ve come to find great comfort in the ability to create. I’ve also experienced how sharing my creations, and the creative process, builds and enhances relationships. I hope this blog inspires you, and I hope to use it as a way to develop my craft. Some posts will be mental musings, others will show you what I’ve been up to. Who knows what else?

2 responses »

    • I will pass the compliment along to him – he picked it out on his own. Apparently, it reminds him of a Christmas tree (the different colors are the lights in his mind’s eye).

Leave a Reply

