Dreaming

Standard

I decided to make a greeting card version of my Dream On postcard. It should be ready for posting tomorrow or Monday.

Behind the Scenes 087

The postcards are already in my Etsy shop:

I’m really pleased with how the card I designed a few days ago turned out:

Before

Before

All of my originals are done completely by hand using colored pencils and acrylic paint. I copy them onto blank cards using our Kodak ESP 7250. To keep the handmade feel, I initial the bottom of each card and write “The Free Range Artisan” on the back. I take pride in the fact that I keep my hands in the handmade idea of selling on Etsy and do not outsource my print work. Still, I have been listening to interviews with successful professional artists who use computer programs and have printing companies mass produce their work; I appreciate the way in which they keep their art unique and am in awe of their success. I certainly would not mind reaching the point in which I have actual clients and could afford a major printing run!

Another idea came to me today, but that will be something to show you at a later date…

I find myself dreaming a lot: dreaming of my next design, of how to make my Etsy shop a success, of what to write as an author, of… well, the list goes on and includes dreams for my family and hopes for my son.

What a gift it is to dream – to imagine what is beyond our current reality. My greatest challenge is finding peace when my dreams do not fit within what is possible; it can be a creative feat to find a way in which that need can still be met, but I think it’s an important challenge to take on.

May you dream big, and may those dreams become a reality more beautiful than you imagined…

– Free Range Al

http://www.etsy.com/shop/TheFreeRangeArtisan

About Alexis

I’m an artisan, momma of one, wife, yogi, and thinker currently living in Missouri, although I’ve also called Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, and Oregon home. Throughout these moves, I’ve come to find great comfort in the ability to create. I’ve also experienced how sharing my creations, and the creative process, builds and enhances relationships. I hope this blog inspires you, and I hope to use it as a way to develop my craft. Some posts will be mental musings, others will show you what I’ve been up to. Who knows what else?

4 responses »

    • Thank you!!! I agree – I don’t have the capabilities to print inside the cards in such a way that looks good from home, but I just learned of a printing company that might be a good fit. I plan to contact them this week and will keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

